The Suleikas and the Mystery of the Sensitive Chord – ARCHIEF

The suleikas

What does being in love sound like?

The Suleikas and the Mystery of the Sensitive Chord is like a concert, but everything goes just a little different than you might expect. The cello is being played by six hands instead of two and suddenly the pianist’s hand is wrapped up in a bandage. And are Emmy and Pepijn really in love?

It is a concert with comic scenes, embarrassing situations and unexpected magic tricks, under the direction of Jochem Stavenuiter. Accompanied by the most beautiful music ever made for piano trios: from Mozart to Piazzolla, and from Chaplin to Ravel.



On stage: Trio suleika

Emmy Storms - violin
Emmy Storms - violin
Maarten den Hengst - piano
Maarten den Hengst - piano
Pepijn Meeuws - cello
Pepijn Meeuws - cello

As one of the top piano trios in the Netherlands, Trio Suleika has been awarded both the Vriendenkrans from the Concertgebouw of Amsterdam and the Kersjesprijs, an award for Dutch ensembles. The repertoire of Trio Suleika unites classical works with more challenging music, from which a growing number of works have been commisioned specifically for the group. Moreover, Suleika regularly works with other artists, notably violinist Frederieke Saeijs, and with poet Ramsey Nasr. After having been selected in 2004 for the national concert series ‘Het Debuut’, Trio Suleika gained a prominent place in the Dutch music world.

Behind the scenes

Jochem Stavenuiter director
Atty Kingma costumes
Udo Akemann en Isabel Cordeiro decor and props
Desirée van Gelderen light design

The music

Antonin Dvorák Andante moderato from Pianotrio no. 4 ‘Dumky’ in op. 90
Maurice Ravel Alborada del Gracioso arr. for trio M. Lammerts van Bueren
Felix Mendelssohn Andante con moto tranquillo from Pianotrio no. 1, op. 49
Arvo Pärt Spiegel im Spiegel
Maurice Ravel Pantoum from Pianotrio
Charlie Chaplin/arr. Klaus Ogerman Smile, from the movie Modern Times
Trio Suleika Walking Bass
Wolfgang A. Mozart Das Butterbrot
Francis Poulenc Intermezzo from Sonate for viool and piano op. 119
P. Meeuws Six Hands on Cello
Astor Piazzolla/arr. Maurice Lammerts van Bueren Libertango

Funded by

Aankomende concerten

Oorkaan Ensemble
8:00 uur,

Dag van de Componist
New Music NOW Express, treinreis vanaf Amsterdam
met stops in Almere-Stad, Zwolle, Arnhem, Den Bosch en Utrecht

met het Oorkaan Ensemble
13:00 uur,

Festival Het Groene Geheim, Almere

Workshop ‘Maak je eigen hoorspel’
11:30 uur,

Kunstfestival IkToon, Hilversum
Gratis workshop

Boek deze voorstelling

Vul onderstaand formulier in voor de aanvraag van een boeking. Voor meer informatie kunt u ook kijken op de pagina boekingen.

"*" geeft vereiste velden aan

Dit veld is bedoeld voor validatiedoeleinden en moet niet worden gewijzigd.